Building up Women Caregivers' Mutual Support Network in Wah Ming Estate

Services to support women are lacking in the North District. As a result, many caregivers in the region find themselves under tremendous pressure with few ways to let it out. To address these issues we launched the Wah Ming Caregivers Support Network, our first caregivers project in North District, thanks to the generous support of the Fu Tak Iam Foundation.The network holds events to raise caregivers' interests and dive into what can be a hidden caregivers community. It aims to arouse caregivers and encourage them to look at their psychological wellbeing. At the same time, it encourages caregivers to form their own support groups in their local community and a network of sisters in arms so they can raise the social capital needed to support their fellow caregivers.

BackEnquiry

Networking Activities

Our caregiver networking events are tailored to the needs of caregivers, such as how to deal with vexing disciplinary issues in childcare. We invite caregivers to join in our talks and sharing sessions, so they can relieve the stresses of the job and discuss child rearing with fellow caregivers.

 

We also recognise that many caregivers may have little opportunity for recreation or to relax on their own. A number of the scheduled events are therefore designed to be outdoor events so the caregivers can have the chance to relax in an open setting while they relieve the pressures of the job.

 

Mind, Body, Spirit Wellness Day

The HKFWC holds four quarterly Mind, Body, Spirit Wellness Days each year at a number of housing estates in Fanling as a way to support caregivers in the community who are experiencing psychological distress.

 

We show the relation between physical and mental health by offering stress tests and blood pressure tests to members of the community, so they can understand how their psychological state affects their health and have a better appreciation of the importance of staying healthy in mind, body, and spirit.

Events & Programmes

未命名-7_工作區域 1

International Women's Day: Women Election Forum

Hong Kong Federation of Women's Centres, in association with Gender Reasearch Centre of The Chinese University of Hong Kong and Hong Kong Women's Coalition on Equal Opportunities, is going to hold a women's forum on Legislative Council by-election on 8 March, 2018 in LT2, Yasumoto International...

DSCF3770

Volunteer Recognition Ceremony 2016/17

The HKFWC walk arm-in-arm with our volunteers. We are grateful to the tireless work put in by all our volunteers over the past year as they brought our ideals to life and helped us reach more women and families in need. Our volunteers form the foundation for all we do, and teach us that gender...

華明照顧者姊妹互助網絡

由於北區的婦女支援持續不足,令到不少的照顧者都承受巨大壓力而不能舒發,因此我們在北區推行照顧者互助計劃——華明照顧者姊妹互助網絡,支援區內婦女的需要。我們非常感謝傅德蔭基金有限公司對「華明照顧者姊妹互助網絡」的贊助,透過舉辦不同網絡活動吸納並發掘隱蔽於社區內的婦女照顧者,喚醒及鼓勵她們關心自己的精神健康,並協助她們在社區內組織互助小組,建立同路人支援網絡,發展社會資本承托區內婦女照顧者需要。

返回立即查詢

網路活動

網絡活動的內容針對照顧者的需要而設計,如孩童照顧者常因管教問題感到煩惱,我們便舉辦講座和分享會,邀請她們分享照顧的壓力及交流子女的成長情況。此外,婦女大多因照顧的工作導致無暇娛樂和休息,因此我們亦舉辦不少外出郊遊活動,目的希望照顧有停下來好好休息一下。

 

關注婦女照顧者身心靈健康日

為發掘隱蔽於社區內受情緒困擾的婦女照顧者,我們每季會於粉嶺不同屋苑舉辦「關注婦女照顧者身心靈健康日」;透過壓力和血壓測試,讓社會大眾更了解自己情緒和身體狀況,從而喚醒大家關心自己的精神健康及增加對情緒病的理解。

活動花絮

DSCF5730

義工誇獎禮 2017/18

義工誇獎禮2017/18已經在4月28日舉行,今年有近300位義工參與,與一眾化身DJ的主持人一同回顧過去一年的努力。過去一年,我們有多個新的義工組成立,例如守望天使、新伙友伴姊妹「途」等,與我們一同推動新的服務,服務...

未命名-7_工作區域 1

國際婦女節 - 婦女議政交流會

香港婦女中心協會聯同香港中文大學性別研究中心及平等機會婦女聯席於2018年3月8日國際婦女節假香港中文大學康本國際學術園 YIA LT2舉辦立法會補選婦女議政交流會,就婦女關心的議題進行熱烈辯論。應邀出席的候選人包括黃...

DSCF3770

義工嘉許禮 2016/17

義工與我們一直以來都肩並肩,我們很感謝每一位義工在過去一年不辭辛勞付出,讓我們的理念得以實行,服務更多有需要的家庭及婦女。為感謝及嘉許一眾義工是年度的心付出及汗水,我們於2017年5月20日在九龍灣國際展貿中...

unconference

拉闊性/別:反轉會議@香港2017

對新政府的期許,女性特首不一定為我們帶來更具性別角度的施政,我們期望政策具有性別敏感度其實很生活。 如醫療上香港有否統計數字就性別分析健康情況及身體狀況,按數據得出相應措施,例如較普遍的疾病提供及早介...